The post-election day scramble pushed incoming House speaker Chris Dorworth, R-Lake Mary, out of office but it moved a two others into line to secure the House’s top job.

By Friday, Rep. Steve Crisafulli, R-Merritt Island, had quickly won the pledges to replace Dorworth after Rep. Erik Fresen, R-Miami, dropped out. Rep. Richard Corcoran, R-Trinity, remained the GOP choice for 2016-18, and Miami Rep. Jose Oliva had secured enough Republican votes in his class to be designated House speaker in 2018-20.

Six years is a long time to wait but, in the just-because world of legislative politics, traditions die hard. So it was no surprise that, despite the election-year upset of Dorworth, the tradition of collecting pledges for the two-year post continued unabated.

Oliva, the CEO of Oliva Cigar Company who has been campaigning for the post since he was elected in a special election in June 2011, to secure enough support from his colleagues to become speaker in 2018-20.

Click here for the Tampa Bay Times article 

FL House speaker list set: Weatherford, Crisafulli, Corcoran, Oliva

Leave a Reply

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out LoudPress Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out LoudPress Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out LoudScreen Reader Support